Selling Your House


We all know how bad the real estate market is and how difficult it can be to sell your house.  But there are ways for you to make your house more visible in the local market.  Even if you have a real estate broker, you should still take steps to bring attention to your house so that as many people as possible view the house.

Garage Sale – I actually sold a house by having a garage sale.  Now mind you, it was not my intention…I just wanted to sell some of my stuff.  What happened was that lots of people came and they bought things, but also loved the house.

I started getting calls from a few brokers who were fighting over the listing.  The broker I picked ended up selling the house on Mother’s Day to a nice young couple.  The sale went off without a hitch.

House Party – Invite friends and friends of friends to a party.  Keep it casual…serve punch and cheese with nuts.  Barbecue hot dogs and hamburgers if you are up to it.  Let everyone know that you are thinking about  selling the house.  Put ideas in their heads.  The word will get out and you may find a buyer.

Craigslist – Of course, lots of folks list their houses on Craigslist, the popular website for buyers and sellers to come together.  Well, it really works.  I rented a house in Florida six times using it.  I even wrote up my own lease from contracts I found on the Internet.  Well, I will admit I got burnt a couple of times, but not too badly.

I will try and think of some more ideas to help you sell your house in this distressed real estate market.  Before I go, just remember to make the house look good and smell nice.  That means clean up, get rid of the clutter, paint if you have to, and think about curb appeal.  Keep the lawn mowed and put out some flower pots.

Good luck!

About Arlene

I am a journalist and marketing writer with a general business background. For more than 25 years, I have worked with professionals in health care, technology, law, financial services, and other disciplines to develop and write articles, web content, and marketing communications that represent their accomplishments and expertise. Currently based in South Florida, I can also be found in New York City, San Francisco, and Portland, Oregon, three locales where you can enjoy great food, meet fascinating people, and experience awesome scenery and urban sights.
This entry was posted in Local publicity campaigns, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

